Underage cricket squads announced

Varun Chopra has been called into the U17 squad.
Varun Chopra has been called into the U17 squad.

The North West Regional Development Training squads for the U11, U13, U15 and U17 levels have been announced.

The squads will train from the first week in January right up until the beginning of April at Bready CC’s Indoor Centre of Excellence for Cricket in the North West region.

This year sees a change on how they prepare the squads for the Interprovincial Tournaments.

In the past they would have opened these sessions up to everyone, with the U17’s training for four weeks in January, U15’s for four weeks in February, U13’s for four weeks in March and the U11’s training for four weeks in April.

Historically these sessions took place at Bready CC’s Indoor Centre, were you could have had for example over 30 boys attend the U15 session.

After the four weeks coaching, the selection panel had to select a squad of 13, who then had little opportunity to prepare for the Interprovincial series of matches in July.

Clubs, parents and players will have noticed we have been running NW Coaching Clinics at U11, U13 and U15 levels at Limavady Grammar School, Bready CC and the Bawnacre Centre in Irvinestown.

This was designed to support up and coming players at the clubs in the Limavady/Coleraine and Enniskillen areas who normally wouldn’t have been able to attend the sessions at Bready CC, giving the young players an opportunity of receiving quality coaching during the winter months.

In addition, they also used this as a talent identification program in a hope they will identify players who have not yet come under the radar of the panel of NW coaches.

The selection committee met this week to select the various underage squads and indeed they have identified players in all three regions who previously had not come under the radar of NW coaches and now have the chance to work with the Regional Development Squads.

The NW Clinics also gave some of the newly qualified coaches a chance to work within the NW Coaching environment, gaining experience by working with the existing Regional Development Squads Head Coaches, meaning they will be taking these experiences back into their clubs and working to develop the next generation of cricketers.

U11 squad: Corin Kyte (Eglinton CC); Dylan O’Kane (Limavady CC); Dylan Smith (North Fermanagh CC); Harry Pearson (St Johnston CC); Jack McGerrigle (Donemana CC); Jack Moore (Donemana CC); James Gamble (Bready CC); James McDermott (Bready CC); James McKillop (Bready CC); Jamie McGonigle (Bready CC); Jay Mackie (North Fermanagh CC); Joshua Kelly (Bready CC); Lorcan McCalvey (Coleraine CC); Luke Magee (St Johnston CC); Matthew Campbell (Bready CC); Nathan McCombe (Bready CC); Oisin Reynolds (Bready CC); Ryan Clarke (Bready CC); Sam MacBeth (St Johnston CC) and Sam McKnight (St Johnston CC).

U13 squad: Adam Boyd (Fox Lodge CC); Aiden Logue (Fox Lodge CC); Ben Mills (Glendermott CC); Brooke Crumley (Bready CC); Caelon Young (Ardmore CC); Cameron Cooke (Eglinton CC); Cameron Leighton (Coleraine CC); Charlie Carmichael (Coleraine CC); Conor Graham (Strabane CC); DJ Dougherty (Donemana CC); Caskey (Coleraine CC); Kenzie Hall (Killyclooney CC); Khyat Bhausar (St Johnston CC); Kyle Magee (Killyclooney CC); Levi Dougherty (Donemana CC); Raymond Curry (Bonds Glen CC); Robbie Millar (Eglinton CC); Ross McLaughlin (Eglinton CC); Scott MacBeth (St Johnston CC); Stuart Kennedy (Ballyspallen CC) and Tommy Orr (Eglinton CC).

U15 squad: Cameron Knight (Bready CC); Dylan Lynch (Glendermott CC); Dylan McElhatton (Eglinton CC); Jack MacBeth (St Johnston); Jacob Logan Wilson (Ballyspallen CC); James Colhoun (Bready CC); Jamie McCombe (Bready CC); Kyle Magee (Killyclooney CC); Marcus Poskitt (Coleraine CC); Mark McCloskey (Bready CC); Mark Moore (Donemana CC); Matthew Hutchison (Coleraine CC); Patrick Carson (Coleraine CC); Reece Logue (Strabane CC); Rithvik Gidwani (Bready CC); Rory Browne (Ardmore CC); Stephen McCloskey (Drummond CC); Todd Killen (Glendermott CC); Varun Chopra (Coleraine CC) and William Finlay (Killyclooney CC).

U17 squad: Aaron Heywood (Fox Lodge CC); Andrew Austin (Bready CC); Ben Johnston (Glendermott CC); Billy Dougherty (Donemana CC); Dawson Crumley (Bready CC); Dylan Alford (Brigade CC); Dylan McCorkell (Bready CC); Graham Kennedy (Ballyspallen CC); Jame McIntyre (Fox Lodge CC); Matthew Barr (Bready CC); Nathan Cole (St Johnston CC); Reece Kelly (Bready CC); Ross Dougherty (Bready CC); Ross McCay (Burndennett CC); Ryan Brolly (Ardmore CC); Ryan MacBeth (St Johnston CC); Sam Jeffrey (Bready CC); Scott Torrens (Coleraine CC) and Varun Chopra (Coleraine CC).