MOTORSPORT: Callum Devine in running for Billy Coleman Award

Callum Devine.
Callum Devine.

Callum Devine from County Londonderry is one of the finalists for the Motorsport Ireland Billy Coleman Young Driver of the Year Award.

Devine is joined by Gary McNamee from County Meath and Josh Moffett from County Monaghan.

The three drivers were chosen from a shortlist of eight candidates who were nominated for the award on the merits of their performances during the year.

All eight faced a rigorous selection process which included interviews from a panel of five judges comprising members of the media, an official from Sport Ireland, a current driver and a representative of the Irish motorsport clubs.

The Billy Coleman Award is internationally-recognised as the most prestigious accolade that any young driver on the island of Ireland can aspire to.

It comes with a prize valued at 50,000 euros in support to help the winner boost their career.

All three finalists will be included in the Team Ireland development programme run by Motorsport Ireland to nurture and support young drivers.

Past winners have included many drivers who have gone on to compete at the highest level, winning multiple British Rally championships and flying the flag at European and World Rally Championship level.

Craig Breen, who won the award in 2009, will drive for Citroen next season in their newly developed C3 WRC car.

The overall winner of the 2016 award will be announced at the Irish Motorsport awards ceremony which will take place on Tuesday, December 13.