Golf: Junior Captain’s Day proves big hit at Roe Park

Kieran Berryman, Roe Park Golfer of the Year 2015.
Kieran Berryman, Roe Park Golfer of the Year 2015.

The wet dreary weather finally gave way to some much needed sunshine last week as golfers from all over the province stored their waterproofs and flocked to the resort to make the most of the drier conditions.

First up was Junior Captains’ Day which saw the junior members of the Roe Park Youth Academy split into two categories and challenge for fantastic prizes.

First out were the category 1 juniors, which consisted of players eligible to play in mens competitions, and it was no surprise that Phillip Callaghan took victory with 37 points.

Jack Henderson took second place with 33 points. Phillip also won nearest the pin whilst Jamie Cochrane won the longest drive. Category 2 consisted of the much younger junior members and Niall McLaughlin produced a superb score of 30 points to take the victory.

Faolan Boyd took second with 28 points and Kyle McGillivray was third with 25 points. Niall also won the nearest the pin prize whilst John Butcher won the longest drive.

Thursday saw a Club Stableford which was won by the impressive Nigel Mearns. He scored an unbeatable 43 points to take the victory and now plays off a four handicap for the first time.

Jamie Vinnicombe scored 40 points to claim second place to just miss out on getting back in the winners circle and Eamon Brown finished third.

Saturday saw a Club Stableford sponsored by Martin, King, French and Ingram. John Carmichael scored 40 points to take the victory.

Nigel Mearns and Ryan McIlmoyle both scored 38 points with Nigel taking the runner-up spot thanks to the count back rule.

Jason Thompson won the gross prize scoring 37 gross points.

Kieran Berryman was crowned Golfer of the Year for the fourth consecutive year with a sublime display of golf skills and consistency unmatched by any other member.

Kieran has simply been unstoppable this year winning the title by a staggering 30 points over second place man Nigel Mearns.

Indeed Nigel came from nowhere to amass 21 points in the final week to leapfrog Andy Young into second place.

Andy just couldn’t recapture his 2014 form when he almost pinched the title from Kieran but will no doubt be happy with third place and come back stronger next year.

All three can now look forward to receiving their fantastic prizes from sponsor, Resident PGA Professional Michael McCrudden.

Presidents’ Day is next Saturday with President James McGuinness welcoming all members to participate for some of the amazing prizes on offer as well as the much coveted Presidents’ Trophy.

To book a tee time or for any other enquiries call the very helpful and friendly staff at The Golf Shop on 02877760105.

Meanwhile former Club Captains, Ciaran Burke and Bob McKimm alongside former Club Secretary, Tony McCann and Malachy Armstrong compiled a magnificent score of 91 points in the teams of four competition kindly sponsored by Hasson Law and Company at City of Derry.

Runners-up on the day was Club President, Maurice Quigg with son Sean, Paul Monaghan and Martin Doherty, 2 points behind on 89. Incidentally Paul and Martin have now featured in consecutive weekends in the prizes.

In third place was the combination of Gary McDaid, Gary Pinder, James Desmond and Peter Deans with 87 points.

Eamon McCourt led a very strong team of Dean Nutt, Ciaran Grant and Pauline McKimm to victory with a score of 11.9 nett under par in The Presidents Scramble, on Friday.

Mark Sheridan playing off a handicap of 18 returned 43 points to finish 5 clear of Gary Brown and Michael Feeney in Sunday’s Confined Club Stableford competition.