Cricket: Warriors Academy squad announced for 2015 season

William McBrine is part of the Warriors Academy squad of the 2015 campaign.
William McBrine is part of the Warriors Academy squad of the 2015 campaign.

The North West has announced details of the Warriors Academy squad for 2015 and the new intake boasts a good representation from across the club spectrum.

St Johnston provide three of this year’s pool - Michael Rankin joined by David Anthony and David Lapsley and there are two apiece from Bready, Coleraine and Eglinton.

While the majority of those named are affiliated to Premiership clubs, Glendermott’s Alan Johnson and Luke Hayes of Fox Lodge ensure that the Championship is also represented. Ballyspallen’s Stephen Kennedy is the sole pick from outside the senior ranks.

The squad will be managed by John Semple and although yet to be confirmed by the North West, it is expected that he will be assisted by Ireland internationals and Warrior bowlers Craig Young and Graeme McCarter.

Warriors Academy: Jamie Miller (Drummond CC); Matthew Smyth (Coleraine CC); Matthew Douglas (Coleraine CC); Dylan Waterstone (Brigade CC); Andrew Pierce (Eglinton CC); Jamie Millar (Eglinton CC); Michael Rankin (St Johnston); Conor Olphert (Bready CC); Stephen Kennedy (Ballyspallen CC); Dylan McCorkell (Bready CC); David Anthony (St Johnston); Luke Hayes (Fox Lodge); Alan Johnson (Glendermott CC); David Lapsley (St Johnston) and William McBrine (Donemana CC).

Meanwhile Bready pace bowler Young will be taking cricket coaching sessions with Newbuildings Primary School pupils every Thursday for the next few weeks, the sessions are from 2pm until 4pm.