CRICKET: North West teenagers in Ireland U19 World Cup squad

Donemana & North West Warrior Gary McClintock is part of the Ireland U19 World Cup squad.
Donemana & North West Warrior Gary McClintock is part of the Ireland U19 World Cup squad.

North West cricket is once again well represented in Ireland U19’s World Cup squad.

The ICC invited Ireland to replace Australia in Group D and they will play its matches against India (in Mirpur on 28 January), Nepal (in Fatullah on 30 January) and New Zealand (in Fatullah on 1 February).

Donemana twins Gary and William McClintock are joined in the squad, who travel to Bangladesh, along with Bready’s Andrew Austin, Coleraine’s Varun Chopra and Strabane’s Aaron Gillespie.

While the North West Cricket Union has released it’s draft fixture list for the 2016 Premiership and Championship campaigns and has invited clubs to peruse the schedule before the forthcoming deadline for changes to be considered.

Regional Administration Officer, David Bradley, said the Union was taking steps to ensure that full engagement takes place with the clubs but that there would only be a short window for changes to be facilitated and clubs should look at for a full list of fixtures.

“Several clubs have already made specific requests however with a busy year ahead at International, Interprovincial and Inter-regional level, we don’t have an awful lot of room for manoeuvre.

“That said, any clubs who would still like to request free dates can register these, complete with the reason for the request, with either myself or General Secretary, George Brolly, before 5pm this coming Friday, (15 January).

“It is very unlikely that ad-hoc changes will be considered after this date so clubs are asked to treat this memo as a priority.

“We would also ask club officials to pay particular attention to the following dates- Saturday 7 May, Saturday 14 May, Sunday 29 May, Saturday 4 June, Saturday 11 June, Sunday 12 June, Saturday 25 June, Sunday 26 June, Saturday 2 July, Sunday 3 July, Sunday 10 July, Sunday 17 July, Friday 29 July, Saturday 30 July, Saturday 13 August, Saturday 27 August, Sunday 28 August.

“Should any clubs require any of these dates to be set aside it is imperative that they ask now. Many of these dates are for Cricket Ireland run competitions and are set prior to domestic fixture scheduling.”