Great win on the road for Prior

editorial image

PRIORIANS travelled to Dromore on Saturday where they knew a tough match lay ahead as they tasted defeat earlier in the season when the sides met, however this time around it was Prior who claimed the points after an impressive 3-1 success.

The first half began with Priorians keeping good possession of the ball and interlinking the back line with midfield effectively. Dromore marked tightly but Priorians found a way through to their forward line via Kathryn Rough where Claire Lightowler’s strike beat the Dromore keeper.

Priorians defence worked hard to cover the long balls being hit through by Dromore, with some great attacking runs by Kristel Brown.

Priorians found the back of the net again before half time as Claire Whiteside flicked the ball past the keeper’s pads.

The pace changed in the second half with Dromore squeezing Priorians into their half of the pitch. A penalty corner was awarded to the home side and a great strike from the top of the circle hit the backboard.

At 2-1 Priorians knew they had to extend their lead as many previous matches had ended up with disappointing draws.

A great ball from heather Manning found Kathryn Rough in Priorians attacking circle and she made no mistake in slotting it past the Dromore keeper.

Dromore pushed again and a foul in the Priorians circle resulted in a penalty flick for Dromore, but confident keeper Megan Dougherty palmed the attempt to the ground and kicked it clear. A last ditch attempt by Dromore meant the final whistle was blown with a penalty corner to be taken by Dromore. This was calmly cleared by Sharon Kariyanas leaving the final score 3-1 to Priorians.

This was a well deserved victory for the whole squad with Sharon Kariyanas and goalkeeper Megan Dougherty being voted joint players of the match.

This weekend Priorians entertain Carrickfergus, at St Columb’s Park.

Priorians Firsts: Megan McClintock, Bronagh Doherty, Demi Harpur, Sharon Kariyanas, Kathryn Rough, Emma Sproule, Kristel Brown, Karen Campbell, Claire Whiteside, Rhonda Duddy, Heather Manning, Claire Lightow.