GOLF: Massive turnout for Emmet McNally’s Captain’s Day at Foyle GC

Foyle Golf Club Captain Mr Emmet McNally presenting his Captains Prize to winner Anthony McMonagle. INLS30-Foyle 1
Foyle Golf Club Captain Mr Emmet McNally presenting his Captains Prize to winner Anthony McMonagle. INLS30-Foyle 1

The esteem in which Foyle Golf Club Captain Mr Emmet McNally is held needs no words after witnessing the turnout for his Captains Prize on Saturday with 162 competing for his magnificent array of prizes when added to the Ladies turnout in excess of 192 played, and with 150 turning out for his Captains Dinner and Presentation he certainly organised an exception day for the club members and his guests.

With the competitors turning out on a fine day and the Ballyarnett course in splendid condition all was set for a very competitive event.

One of the early starters European representative in the one arm Flight Master Cup being played in America in September Declan Burns holding top spot for most of the day on 41 points.

But one of the later starters 15 handicapper Anthony McMonagle returned a fine winning score of 42 points to claim the most coveted title on the club calendar.

Another of the later starters Shane McClean (3) returned an excellent two under par round for his 41 points for a second place finish therefore relegating Burns (20) into third place.

The best gross score on the day being returned by Paul McGuigan who negotiated the course in three under par and will now play off a plus one handicap the next time he tee’s it up.

The front nine went to John Coyle (12) after a break of tie finish when he scored 21 points and Charlie Haslett (18) won the back nine also after break of tie finish, he finished on 22 points.

Best visitor was Killymoon’s Norman Weir (7) after scoring 36 points and Kevin Dunn (10) won the past captain prize after he scored 41 points.

The juvenile section went to Nathan Mulligan (17) after he finished with 36 points and Caolan Dunn (4) with 36 points was second and Darragh Glynn hit the longest drive.

In the Ladies category Geraldine Doherty (27) with 38 points came out on top; Sadie O’Kane (24) with 38 points was second and Myra Gough (20) with 35 points was third after a break of tie finish.

The Captain’s 9 Hole Scramble went to Christy Coyle, Mark McIntyre, Jim McFadden and Pat McCourt after they finished with 26.2 points.

Club Stableford competition went to Liam Kerr (15) after scoring 43 points; Damien Kivelehan (9) with 41 points was second and Caolan Dunn (4) with 40 points was third.

The Telegraph Junior Championship saw Caolan Dunn with 75 win the gross section and Tony Harkin (11) with 69 points was first nett.

Tomorrow (Wednesday) the PFS Accountants Open Stableford competition takes centre stage, there’s an Open on Friday; Saturday will see the Cable & Accessories Anniversary Open Stableford being staged and the Senior and Junior Scratch Cup takes place on Sunday.