Draws released for next year’s golf events

City of Derry take on Loughgall in next year's Ulster Cup competition.
City of Derry take on Loughgall in next year's Ulster Cup competition.

At the Annual Delegates Meeting, the Ulster Branch of the Golfing Union of Ireland released the draws for next season’s events.

In the Ulster Cup, the big local attraction will be the meeting of Ballyliffin and Letterkenny in the first round.

Other first round matches involving local clubs are County Cavan versus Ballybofey/Stranorlar, Galgorm Castle versus Portsalon, Omagh versus Narin Portnoo, North West versus Ballyclare, Greencastle versus Down Royal, Roe Park versus Balmoral and City of Derry versus Loughgall.

These ties must all be completed by Monday 18th April.

After receiving byes into the second round, Foyle play Kilkeel and Faughan Valley make the trip to Castle Hume.

Both Donegal and Dunfanaghy have away matches in the first leg of their ties with Blackwood and Bangor respectively.

Strabane have home advantage over Hilton Templepatrick.

The second round matches must all be completed by Monday 16th May.

The old Ulster Fourball Trophy has been replaced by the new Irish Fourball Trophy, and the first and second rounds have the same timescales as the Ulster Cup.

In the first round, North West take on Blacklion, Ballybofey / Stranorlar meet Larne, with Faughan Valley taking on Aughnacloy.

In the second round, Redcastle host Carnalea, Foyle meet Bundoran, County Armagh play Strabane, Roe Park met near neighbours City of Derry, with Ballyliffin taking on Spa.

Donegal are set to meet Balmoral, and Letterkenny have been drawn with Ballycastle. Portsalon make the long journey to Enniskillen for a place in the third round.

The details of the other competitions, which have qualifying days are as follows.

Jimmy Bruen Shield (Sunday 1 May), Letterkenny host all the Donegal clubs plus Strabane, with all of the city based clubs venturing to Portstewart.

Pierce Purcell Shield (Sunday 8 May), Dunfanaghy have the honour of welcoming the Donegal clubs, as well as Strabane, with the exception of Donegal and Bundoran who will attempt to qualify at Aughnacloy. Foyle, City of Derry and Faughan Valley are part of the teams participating at Bushfoot.

In the Irish Mixed Foursomes (Sunday 15th May) City of Derry is the main venue for local qualifying with Ballyliffin, Buncrana, Castlerock, Foyle, Greencastle, Letterkenny, North West, Roe Park and Rosapenna. Newtownstewart is the other venue being used, and Ballybofey/Stranorlar, Dunfanaghy, Strabane and Portsalon are set to play there.

The Senior Cup (Sunday 22 May) qualifying will be at the superb links at Portsalon, and the Junior Cup qualifying (Sunday 28 May) is split between North West and Strabane.

The unique Barton Shield (Sunday 12 June) sees all the local interest transferring to the championship Donegal Golf Club.