Jackie Fullerton snubs Messi in Ballon d’Or vote

editorial image

Ex-Derry city player and long-standing broadcaster Jackie Fullerton snubbed Lionel Messi with his Ballon d’Or vote preferring Cristiano Ronaldo, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Robert Lewandowski, in that order.

Northern Ireland boss, Michael O’Neill, also felt the Argentine wasn’t the best player in the world in 2015.

He placed Messi third, voting for Luis Suárez and Robert Lewandowski ahead of the Barcelona forward.

Northern Ireland captain Steven Davis, however, proved in step with the world football zeitgeist.

The Southampton midfielder called the vote as it panned out, placing Messi first, Ronaldo second and Neymar third.

Martin O’Neill, meanwhile, thought Messi was the best, Eden Hazard, the second best, and Ronaldo, the third best player last year.

Robbie Keane went for Ronaldo, Messi and Neymar in that order.

Gordan Strachan voted for Ronaldo, Thomas Müller and Messi; and Scott Brown went for Lewandowski, Ronaldo and Müller.

The Wales manager Chis Coleman went for Gareth Bale, Ronaldo and Hazard, whilst the Welsh captain Ashley Williams went for Bale, Messi and Lewandowski.

Roy Hodgson voted for Ronaldo, Messi and Hazard. And Wayne Rooney voted for Messi, Müller and Ronaldo.