Curry rolls back the years to win awards

There was double success for North West players in the Cricket Ireland Awards.

Tuesday, 11th November 2014, 10:44 am
Ritchie Kelly, right, presenting the BBC Radio Foyle Player of the Year Cup to Decker Curry at the at the annual dinner held by the North West Cricket Union in the White Horse Hotel on Saturday night. INLS4514-161KM

Bready paceman Craig Young and Ardmore batsman Decker Curry picked up the Emerging and Club Player of the Year accolades.

Meanwhile the annual North West cricket presentation dinner took place at the White Horse Hotel on Saturday evening.

The biggest winner on the night was Curry; the former Irish International picking up both the Premiership batting award and the coveted Radio Foyle Player of the Year trophy.

Fellow Ardmore and former Donemana player Gary Neely picked up the Premiership bowling shield making it a successful night for the Bleachgreen club.

St Johnston’s Ryan Macbeth was another big winner - the teenager rewarded for a haul of 51 wickets by taking home the Championship bowling award and the Young Player of the Year.

Richard McDaid claimed the batting honours as he boasted an average of over 50 as Drummond won the Sammy Jeffrey Shield.

There was a hugely popular winner of the Club Person of the Year award as Strabane’s Paddy Gillespie received the trophy.

He wasn’t the only winner in his house as son Mark was presented with the Harry Henderson Fair Play award by umpires Chairman, Connie McAllister.

Andy McBrine was voted the Bannigan Players’ Player of the Year for the second season running - the Donemana and North West Warriors player continuing to make great strides at all levels of the game.

Young was voted the Warriors Player of the Year while Coleraine’s Rishi Chopra was selected as the Emerging Player.

Mark Olphert won the newest award - Coach of the Year - while Emma Allen and Toni Millar won the Ladies batting and bowling respectively.

The Derry Midweek batting and bowling trophies were claimed by Bready pair Mattie Barr and Jordan McCorkell.