New Governors for the North West Regional College

editorial image

Employment and Learning Minister Dr Stephen Farry has announced the appointment and reappointment of members to the Governing Body of North West Regional College.

The Minister has appointed three new governors and re-appointed two existing governors, whose first terms of office had come to an end.

The appointments took effect from August 1, 2015 and each is for a period of four years.

The new governors are Mr Paul Laughlin, Mr Brian Quinn and Ms Susan Reid.

The governors who are being re-appointed for a second term are Mr Gavin Killeen and Mr Samuel McGregor.

The governing body of a further education college is responsible for securing the efficient and effective management of the college, determining its strategic direction, appointing its senior staff and ensuring that the college acts as a responsible employer.

Appointments to the governing bodies of further education colleges are not currently remunerated.

The new appointments are being made by the Minister following a public appointments competition. Both the appointments and reappointments are being made in accordance with the Code of Practice of the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland. Appointments and reappointments to the governing bodies of further education colleges are for a period of four years.