Three listed buildings for Claudy

Signpost to Claudy
Signpost to Claudy

Environment Minister Mark H Durkan has listed two historic rural houses and an 18th century bridge near Claudy.

Describing the announcement as “a boost for Claudy”, the Minister said: “The two rural houses protected are an important remnant of a fast disappearing part of our heritage and the bridge, with raised cutwaters is a particularly good example of a bridge from the 18th century.

“Listing will ensure these important assets are preserved and protected as part of Claudy and the region’s rich tapestry to be enjoyed by visitors and locals alike.

“Cumber Bridge, a late 18th century triple-arched road bridge is noted in the 1832 OS Memoirs to have been the oldest in the parish. It has a robust and simple design with one angled cut-water on each side extending to parapet level to provide a pedestrian refuge”.

Also listed is a detached single storey house located on Barnahilt Road, Gortilea. “This is considered to be a very good example of a vernacular grouping including a formerly thatched dwelling and out-buildings,” the Minister said.

A single and two-storey vernacular house with bed out-shot at 24 Lower Ballyarton Road, Lower Alla has also been listed.

Both of these buildings were constructed before the 1830s and represent an increasingly rare type of rural house that once characterised the area.

The listings result from the DOE Historic Environment Division’s Second Survey of the former Derry City Council Area.

The former Strabane District Council Area was reviewed in 2011. This has seen surveyors examining and researching the built heritage of Derry from June 2014. The consultation submitted to the Council is one of a number with further engagement planned over the coming months.

The three buildings listed in the Claudy area brings the total number of listed buildings within the former Derry City Council Area to almost 500; not all of these have yet been surveyed and re-evaluated by DOE Historic Environment Division. The total number of listed buildings within the new council area is 649; (481 in Derry and 168 in Strabane).