Dougherty to sit on harbour board

Brian Dougherty. DER3414-120KM
Brian Dougherty. DER3414-120KM

Hilary McCartan and Brian Dougherty MBE have each been appointed to the Board of Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners for the first time.

Ports Minister Danny Kennedy has also reappointed Dr Dolores O’Reilly and Peter Sheridan OBE to the Board to serve second terms.

The appointments took effect from April 1, 2015 for four years and will run to March 31, 2019.

Mr Kennedy said: “I am confident that the members that I have reappointed will continue to make a valuable contribution to the work of the Board. The new members will bring fresh skills, experience and ideas to the table.

“Foyle Port is of major importance to the local economy and I am sure that these appointments will ensure that Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners will continue to develop, maintain and operate the Port to the highest standards.”

The Minister also paid tribute to the outgoing Board Members Roy Devine and Joe McKeever, saying: “I would also like to thank the outgoing Non-Executive Members for the valuable contribution they have made to Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners during their tenure.”

The appointments have been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland Code of Practice.